Australia Day and OHS

[Article updated at 5.00pm]

Three Australians have received recognition on today’s Australia Day HonoursKate Cole, Michelle Baxter and Sharann Johnson for occupational health and safety work, The official citations are for “For service to workplace health and safety”, “For outstanding public service to the health and safety of Australian workplaces and the community, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic” and “For significant service to community health as an occupational hygienist, and to service groups” respectively.

I have never met these recipients, but I have heard several of them speak in various locations and media. The Australia Day process itself provides very little detail of accomplishments, so it is up to each of us to watch for mentions and profiles in the media over the next week or so. To help in this endeavour, below are some relevant links and hashtags.

Many award recipients have affected health and safety conditions in various workplaces. The health care setting and COVID-19 are of particular relevance, but occupational health and safety rarely gets this level of recognition. Often, no one receives an award in this sector, so this year is unique and important.

Kate Cole:

Michelle Baxter:

Kevin Jones

Categories government, Leadership, media, OHS, politics, safety, SafeWork, Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “Australia Day and OHS”

  1. Perhaps we should also mention Dr Sharann Johnston AM, past secretary AIOH, Inaugural Chair ASHPA, who was awarded her AM for significant services to the community health as an occupational hygienist and to service groups.

    1. The main article has been revised to include Sharann. I will add more details when I have a bit more time. I really appreciate you bringing her award to my attention. I apologise for not including her in the first draft.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Concatenate Web Development
© Designed and developed by Concatenate Aust Pty Ltd